Tune in weekdays at 8 AM to hear from our Guest DJs! Monica will chat with local members of the community as they share information about their organization and the events they have planned.

If you would like to be considered for our Guest DJ segment, contact Monica at Monica@949WDKB.com

NOTE: All Guest DJ interviews will be conducted by phone until further notice.


Here are our upcoming Guest DJs:

OCTOBER

  • Wed 10/7 – Sarah Rex, Sycamore Park District, October Events
  • Thurs 10/8 – Samantha Hathaway, DeKalb Library, October Events
  • Fri 10/9 – Virginia Filiceti – DeKalb Chamber ATHENA Awards
  • Tues 10/13 – Jeanine Holcomb, Egyptian Theatre, Horror Film Series + DeKalb Spooktacular
  • Thurs 10/15 – Angela Schiola Niemeyer, Stage Coach Players, ‘Waiting in the Wings’ community engagement
  • Fri 10/16 – Dr Kurt Thurmaier, chair of NIU’s Department of Public Administration on the Fair Tax Amendment
  • Wed 10/21 – Amy Frank, Rochelle’s Vince Carney Community Theatre, Outdoor Comedy Show
  • Thurs 10/22 – Cydney Wessel and Jasmine Young, Youth Service Bureau, Free Youth Groups
  • Fri 10/22 – Jason Akst, Sycamore Music Boosters, Mattress Fundraiser

SEPTEMBER

  • Wed 9/2 – Kendal Harvell, Safe Passage Golf Outing
  • Thurs 9/3 – Sarah Rex, Sycamore Park District, Cup in Hand Kickball Tourney + Junk in Your Trunk Sale
  • Fri 9/4 – Samantha Hathaway, DeKalb Library September Event Updates
  • Tues 9/8 – Taylor Tallitsch, VAC Virtual Golf Outing
  • Wed 9/9 – Kourtny Schwerdtman, CASA’s Volunteer Advocate Info Sessions and Training
  • Thurs 9/10 – Didi Dowling, “Live, Learn and Lead” Goat Yoga
  • Fri 9/11 – Jackie DiNatale, DCCG Local Flavors Virtual Benefit
  • Tues 9/15 – Jeremy Benson, NIU STEM Fest
  • Wed 9/16 – Dawn Schaefer, Kishwaukee Special Recreation Association, Rummage Sale Fundraiser
  • Thurs 9/17 – Katie Drum, DeKalb Park District, Halloween Decorating Contest + Howl-o-Ween Pet Costume Contest
  • Fri 9/18 – Kendal Harvell, Safe Passage Swept Under the Rug Museum Exhibit
  • Tues 9/22 – Deb Loitz + Melissa Beck, Northern Rehab ‘Choose to Move’ Challenge
  • Wed 9/24 – Greg Bruggeman, DeKalb Park District Hopkins Pool Survey
  • Thurs 9/24 – Dustin Lyon + Jerry Lane, DeKalb County Crop Walk
  • Fri 9/25 – Jeanine Holcomb, Egyptian Theatre Horror Film Series & Boo’ze and Spirits Tours
  • Mon 9/28 – Virginia Filicetti, DeKalb Chamber, 2020 Community Expo

AUGUST

  • Wed August 5 – Jill Olson, CASA Final Update about 50 Men Who Cook
  • Thurs August 6 – Kendal Harvell, Safe Passage, Golf Outing
  • Fri August 7 – Jeremy Benson, NIU STEM, Stargazing Event
  • Mon August 10 – Angela McCrum, Northwestern Medicine LivingWell Bridge Walk
  • Mon August 17 – Heather Dunker, Cami Loving and Jen Lucchesis, Kish YMCA Supplemental School Age Care
  • Thurs August 20 – Krissy Johnson, Genoa Chamber Duck Race
  • Fri August 21 – Greg Kubitz, St Mary’s Lancer Dash
  • Wed August 26 – Corie Wild, Scouts BSA Recruitment
  • Thurs August 27 – Lauren Holtz, Sycamore Education Foundation Virtual Taking Root Fundraiser
  • Fri August 28 – Norm Larson, DeKalb Area Agricultural Heritage Association, Evening with Innovators event

JULY

  • Wed July 1 – VAC, Summer Meals Program, Volunteer Drivers, 5K
  • Thurs July 2 – Michelle Donahoe, DeKalb County History Center, Collecting History Initiative
  • Mon July 6 – Bobby Hollis, Director of Global Energy, Environment and Site Selection at Facebook
  • Thurs July 9 – Jill Carter, Sycamore Library Reopening Plans
  • Fri July 10 – Amy Buhrow & Jason Gorham, NIU College of Business, IGNITE, the ELC and Business in Action
  • Tues July 14 – Patrick Eriksen, DeKalb Fire Dept, Summer Safety Tips
  • Thurs July 16 – Virginia Filicetti, DeKalb Chamber, Family Fun Fest
  • Fri July 17 – Gretchen Sprinkle, Kishwaukee United Way, Day of Caring
  • Tues July 21 – Greg Bruggeman, DeKalb Park District, Summer Activities
  • Wed July 22 – Sarah Rex, Sycamore Park District, Summer Activities
  • Thurs July 23 – Jessica Sandlund, CASA DeKalb County, 50 Men Who Cook Update
  • Fri July 24 – Katherine Lueken, Ben Gordon Center, ‘The Living Room’ Adult Crisis Program/Services
  • Mon July 27 – Jeanine Holcomb, Egyptian Theatre Relief Fund
  • Tues July 28 – Samantha Hathaway, DeKalb Library August Updates
  • Wed July 29 – Sara Swedrock, Waterman All Town Garage Sale
  • Fri July 31 – Erin Reynolds and Jamie Marcinkowski, Sycamore Chamber, Dine and Drive Event

JUNE

  • Mon Jun 1 – Beth Squires, NIU Public Health Educator, How to Keep Minimizing Your Exposure to COVID-19
  • Tues Jun 2 – Rose Treml + Shelby Huffman, Sycamore Chamber, Sycamore Farmers Market
  • Wed Jun 3 – Bill Indelli, Director of Walcamp Outdoor Ministries and Retreat Center
  • Fri Jun 5 – Kendal Harvell, Safe Passage, Feed Our Families + Pride Month Social Media Challenge
  • Wed Jun 10 – Phil Montgomery, Kirkland Lions Club Fundraiser Updates
  • Fri Jun 12 – Courtney Hill, Basics DeKalb County
  • Tues Jun 16 – Virginia Filiceti, DeKalb Chamber, DeKalb Farmers Market
  • Thurs Jun 18 – Vivian Meade, Black Lives Matter DeKalb
  • Fri Jun 19 – Kish Family YMCA, Cami Loving and Jen Lucchesis, Summer Camps, Plans for Phase 4
  • Tues Jun 23 – CASA DeKalb, 50 Men Who Cook Virtual Fundraiser
  • Wed Jun 24 – Suzanne Degges-White, Chair of NIU Counseling, How to Talk About Racism
  • Thurs Jun 25 – Treveda Redmond, New Hope’s ‘Back to School Bash’ School Supply Drive
  • Fri Jun 26 – Jan Kuntz, Stage Coach Players COVID Task Force
  • Mon Jun 29 – Dr. Joe Flynn, Associate Director of Black Studies at NIU, Systemic Racism + Black History Resources
  • Tues Jun 30 – Samantha Hathaway, DeKalb Library Updates

MAY

  • Fri May 1 – 8am: Leah Enderle, Furry Friday with Tails / 9am: Ben Bingle, Give DeKalb County Update
  • Mon May 4 – Meet WDKB’s New Sales Rep Lynnette Obrycki
  • Tues May 5 – Jeremy Benson, NIU STEAM Virtual Summer Camps
  • Wed May 6 – Ben Bingle, Final Give DeKalb County Update
  • Thurs May 7 – Alicia Shatteman, Director of the NIU Center for Nonprofit and NGO Studies
  • Fri May 8 – Jackie Espy, DeKalb Loves Local Raffle Update
  • Mon May 11 – Tina Vavra, LePrint Express, Tees4DC Update
  • Tues May 12 – Dr Julie Patterson, NIU Assistant Professor of Nutrition and Dietetics, Virtual STEMCafe: Healthy Eating
  • Wed May 13 – Jessica Brady, Family Service Agency Blood Drive
  • Tues May 19 – Phil Montgomery, Kirkland Lions Club Raffle Tickets
  • Wed May 20 – Jana Roe, Skin Cancer Awareness Month
  • Thurs May 21 – John Hall, DeKalb County United Soccer Club, Virtual Match Fundraiser
  • Fri May 22 – 8am: Mya Groza, NIU Associate Professor of Marketing, DeKalb County UNITES Consumer Sentiment Survey / 9am: Lynnea Erickson Laskowski, Safe Passage, Crisis Hotline Update
  • Tues May 26 – Jill Carter, Sycamore Library, Curbside Pickup Update
  • Wed May 27 – Samantha Hathaway, DeKalb Library, Curbside Pickup + Summer Reading and June Virtual Events
  • Thurs May 28 – Ted Burgess, NIU Entomologist, Mosquito Season
  • Fri May 29 – Mya Groza, NIU Associate Professor of Marketing, DeKalb County UNITES Consumer Sentiment Survey Results

APRIL

  • Mon Apr 6 – Dawn Littlefield, Kishwaukee United Way, Money Smart Week
  • Tues Apr 7 – Mary McKinnell, Behavioral Health Services Manager at Northwestern Medicine
  • Wed Apr 8 – Patrick Eriksen, DeKalb Fire Dept, COVID-19/Community Safety
  • Thurs Apr 9 – Jackie Espy, DeKalb Loves Local Gift Card Promotion & Raffle
  • Fri Apr 10 – 7am: Tina Vavra, Le Print Express, Tees4DC Fundraiser / 8am: Leah Enderle, Tails Humane Society, Adoption Update
  • Mon Apr 13 – 8am: Kourtney Schwerdtman, CASA DeKalb County, Child Abuse Prevention Month / 9am: Lynnea Eriksen Laskowski, Safe Passage Resource Update
  • Tues Apr 14 – Judi Dymond, NIU Virtual STEMCafe
  • Wed Apr 15 – Jill Carter, Sycamore Library
  • Thurs Apr 16 – Ben Bingle, Give DeKalb County Update
  • Fri Apr 17 – Kris Stark, The Barn on Baseline
  • Tues Apr 21 – Tim Michaelis, NIU College of Business, Stretching Your Finances During COVID-19
  • Wed Apr 22 – 8am: Dave Davis & Joe McClintock, 350 Kishwaukee, Earth Day Celebration / 9am: Suzanne Degges-White, Chair of NIU Counseling, “Zoom Fatigue”
  • Thurs Apr 23 – Holly Peifer, FSA DeKalb County Virtual Walk to End Child Abuse + Raffle
  • Fri Apr 24 – Jeanine Holcomb, Egyptian Theatre Updates
  • Mon Apr 27 – Dr Laurie Ellish-Piper, Homeschooling During the Pandemic
  • Tues Apr 28 – Samantha Hathaway, DeKalb Library Updates
  • Wed Apr 29 – Dan Kenney, DeKalb County Community Gardens Updates
  • Thurs Apr 30 – Ellen Rogers, Voluntary Action Center, Meals for Moms At Home

GUEST DJ ARCHIVE